Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Article: Garden Visitor: The Black-Capped Chickadee: Chickadee Song

Communities > Forums > Article: Garden Visitor: The Black-Capped Chickadee
bookmark
Forum: Article: Garden Visitor: The Black-Capped ChickadeeReplies: 6, Views: 28
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gardengirl86
Middleboro, MA

January 7, 2013
4:07 AM

Post #9377816

I noted that you mentioned the chickadee's song is fee bee with the second note being higher than the first. I was a music teacher for 32 years and the chickadees in my backyard feeders always sing the first note higher than the second. Could your article have a misprint? I remember that the mother's in my neighborhood would tell their daughters that the chickadee was singing their name, i.e., Phoebe, Patti, Lucy; whatever their name was.

About them being friendly and fearless; they certainly are. My oldest son would stand still until a Chickadee was feeding nearby and very slowly reach up and pet it. This went on every day for an entire summer. No matter how hard I tried, they wouldn't come near me. He even got it to eat out of his hand once. You've got to love the chickadee!
orkid101
West Chester, PA
(Zone 6a)

January 7, 2013
5:51 AM

Post #9377864

The little chickadees keep us bird watchers busy during the winter. We have heard every on of the pretty songs mentioned. I had an aunt named Phoebe and I think of her when the little birds start singing it! My daughter is a member of the Cornell Bird Watcher Club and she can get birds to perch on her hands, too. Once they land on her hands, I usually can coax them on to my hands because we go outside together. The chickadees have to see my daughter first, though. They are lively-we have seen three of them chase bigger birds off a feeder. Don't worry, the bigger birds come back later for their meal.

gwen21

gwen21