Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Mosaics and Stained Glass: New to Mosaic Mirrors-What Do You Think?

Communities > Forums > Mosaics and Stained Glass
bookmark
Forum: Mosaics and Stained GlassReplies: 2, Views: 56
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Nickel_Treasure
Franklin, WI

January 9, 2013
11:40 AM

Post #9380165

I'm new to making mosaic mirrors. I'm a guy so I prefer more rustic, natural, and metal color tones. I prefer simple over intricate. I'm trying to bring a little different flair to mosaic mirrors in terms of shapes and materials. The square mosaic mirror is ok, it's just been done before so I'm trying to be a little unique.

I'm looking for feedback. Are these cool? Are they sellable? All feedback is appreciated.

Thumbnail by Nickel_Treasure   Thumbnail by Nickel_Treasure   Thumbnail by Nickel_Treasure   Thumbnail by Nickel_Treasure
Click an image for an enlarged view.

lovetopaint
Newark, DE

January 10, 2013
7:57 AM

Post #9380892

Hey Nickel,

I haven't done any mosaic work myself. I am reading and looking here to learn how, so I'm no help there. My opinion, however, is that I like your work. I am female but love the colors of the metallic tiles. By mixing them you have created something that would fit into any decor. I think that makes them very marketable because it is now very popular to mix the metals in your decor as well.

As for the football themed ones. How cool! You incorporated the teams colors in the borders so that makes it very appealing to those fans. Yes, I know football :-). Many people decorate their son's bedrooms with their favorite team colors and branded items, so that is one market, but you would also apeal to the "man cave" idea.