Photo by Melody

Greenhouse: New to greenhouse...and this is a cheap one!

Communities > Forums > Greenhouse
bookmark
Forum: GreenhouseReplies: 9, Views: 221
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
enidcandles
Enid, OK

January 21, 2013
9:42 AM

Post #9392373

My husband surprised me with a $99.00 greenhouse. We have it put up but I don't know what to do with it now. It is a cheapo, and only has one door...no ventilation other than opening the door. Is there anything I can grow in there now? Anything you can tell me about this greenhouse would be greatly appreciated. I have no experience with a greenhouse what so ever and don't have a clue what to do!
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

January 21, 2013
10:29 AM

Post #9392428

Do you have a picture or some more info (like brand name/model)? Typically the cheaper greenhouses are cost-prohibitive to heat through the winter so you likely can't use it for overwintering tropicals or anything like that, but you can probably use it to get a head start on seed starting in the spring.
JoParrott
Richland, WA
(Zone 7b)

January 21, 2013
10:47 AM

Post #9392446

This is my little greenhouse- it's just 4x6', and I love it- the only problem is that in 2 years the horrible winds we have just tore the plastic covering to pieces-even though it is reinforced. I have tried to patch it with special clear tape, but it just comes off. I will have to take it down this year. It was $99 at Fred Meyers.

Thumbnail by JoParrott
Click the image for an enlarged view.

tropicalnut777
Provo, UT
(Zone 5a)

January 21, 2013
10:48 AM

Post #9392449

just jump in enid.. whatever u love to grow..
to ecranes point.. and i dont know how cold enid gets in winter..
is it a set up..and easy to take down one? is there a floor attached to
the greenhouse?
if easy to set up..and no floor..u might get a head start on lettuce,early
spring vegys..:)
i know im sort of.. patiently waiting for our really COLD weather to