Photo by Melody

Texas Gardening: Elderberry Stories - Anyone growing them?

Communities > Forums > Texas Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Texas GardeningReplies: 23, Views: 168
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Garden_Sass
Central, TX
(Zone 8b)

January 23, 2013
6:47 AM

Post #9394533

Drought or no drought, I'm gonna try growing elderberries for tea (flowers only), jelly, wine and because they're just darn pretty! Haven't seen any in local nurseries (could be bad news) so I ordered 4 from Starks (big bucks) - they should be here in a couple of weeks. I have seen one huge one growing in a yard in town but when the house sold it was cut down - bummer.

Please tell me if you're growing them, what care they're given, where they like to grow in your yard and if you use the flowers and fruit (which must be properly cooked) for edibles.

Sassy

frostweed

frostweed
Josephine, Arlington, TX
(Zone 8a)

January 23, 2013
12:14 PM

Post #9394974

I have been growing Elderberries for many years and I love them, they do very well for me here in north central Texas.
They do like more water than some other plants, but they are beautiful and almost evergreen here.
I don't get to pick any of the berries anymore, the birds and the squirrels get them first, but I used to make some great elderberry jam, it is my favorite.
Josephine.

dfwdennis

dfwdennis
Grapevine, TX
(Zone 8a)

January 23, 2013
8:08 PM

Post #9395526

I had a non-native black elderberry and it didn't do well so I eventually pulled it and replaced it with a native elderberry, which is doing very well and grew from a 6 in cutting to a 9 foot plant within a few years.
Garden_Sass
Central, TX
(Zone 8b)

January 24, 2013
5:13 AM

Post #9395671

Are they in full sun or partial shade?

frostweed

frostweed
Josephine, Arlington, TX
(Zone 8a)

January 24, 2013
6:16 AM

Post #9395732

Mine are in partial shade along a fence with trees in the general area, but not under them.
I think full Texas sun is too much for Elderberries.