Photo by Melody

High Yield Gardening: Square Foot Garden Plan Suggestions?

Communities > Forums > High Yield Gardening
bookmark
Forum: High Yield GardeningReplies: 10, Views: 110
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
apinch
Morton, IL

February 20, 2013
5:32 AM

Post #9425209

I have been doing the square foot garden method for a few years & recently posted this plan: http://apinchofcharacter.com/2013/02/20/planning-your-small-plot-garden-layout/
I would love to hear your suggestions for improvements!
Jody

Thumbnail by apinch
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Oberon46
(Mary) Anchorage, AK
(Zone 4b)

February 20, 2013
2:03 PM

Post #9425749

I had three raised beds put in; 4x8 OD; with loss for the frames they are closer to 37"x94. I bought the SF gardener and am starting my plan for this year. I will be putting covering over them to get a little earlier run on it but the amounts he listed for each sf seemed undoable. I appreciate your design and will do some doodling with it compared with what I worked out from his schematic.
JoParrott
Richland, WA
(Zone 7b)

February 20, 2013
3:33 PM

Post #9425869

I think you have to allow yourself to have some flexibility when doing square foot gardening. I agree that the "square foot gardening" book seems very intense- Actually I have practiced it (loosely) for many years. I have all raised beds that are mostly 3' wide by various lengths- my main one is 50' long with a few breaks- a tree, etc. I know pretty much how much to allow each tomato, each pepper, etc.,. and go from there. I will take some photos tomorrow.

This message was edited Feb 20, 2013 5:00 PM

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

February 20, 2013
5:03 PM

Post #9425956

Have you taking shading into account? The only thigs that jump out at me as "tall" are your tomatoes, that might be climbing supports.

If they are, they should probably be at the North end, so they don't shade anything shorter.

I admire people who plan ahead!

Oberon46