Photo by Melody

Insect and Spider Identification: What is this beautiful creature?

Communities > Forums > Insect and Spider Identification
bookmark
Forum: Insect and Spider IdentificationReplies: 9, Views: 89
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
drivingmebuggy
Dunnellon, FL

March 6, 2013
10:15 PM

Post #9441481

found 3/6/2013 in Citrus springs, Florida. It is smaller than a nickel

Thumbnail by drivingmebuggy
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Flapdoodle
Minot, ND

March 7, 2013
5:29 AM

Post #9441617

Nymph of a long-horned grasshopper (family Tettigoniidae); this group includes true, false, and bush katydids, some of which can appear in both green and pink morphs.
C_A_Ivy
Barling, AR
(Zone 7b)

March 7, 2013
7:25 PM

Post #9442400

Really nice pic. and specimen.

Flapdoodle, I'm a novice at bug ID but was curious if this is Psinidia fenestralis, Longhorn band-wing grasshopper which appears to be common in Florida? If it is I will offer to set up a guide page so that drivingmebuggy can add this nice image to DG guides for future reference.
drivingmebuggy
Dunnellon, FL

March 7, 2013
9:53 PM

Post #9442468

Thank you Flapdoodle for your quick reply. I had an idea it may have been in the grasshopper family, but the wings looked like plant leaves.
Shorthog, I would be glad to add this picture for a reference. I just joined DG yesterday, so I am a total novice on how I would accomplish that.
Flapdoodle
Minot, ND

March 8, 2013
8:11 AM

Post #9442773

Definitely not Psinidia fenestralis - see http://bugguide.net/node/view/260290/bgimage for a nymph of this species.
C_A_Ivy
Barling, AR
(Zone 7b)

March 8, 2013
1:31 PM

Post #9443024

Flapdoodle, I'm confused. You indicted that this was a grasshopper but gave the family name for katydids. I agree that it looks like a katydid nymph. Since some oblong-winged katydids can be rarely pink, could this be a nymph of this species?
Flapdoodle
Minot, ND

March 8, 2013
2:44 PM

Post #9443103