Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: permaculture and homesteading Ontario zone 4a-5a

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 5, Views: 23
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
perma_mike444
Ottawa
Canada

March 10, 2013
1:04 PM

Post #9444919

I am really interested in knowing about what plants attract beneficial insects. also what types of plants work well with each other? im kinda new at this stuff please let me know :) I am trying to have the sweetest garden!
purpleinopp
Opp, AL
(Zone 8b)

March 12, 2013
8:22 AM

Post #9446847

The beneficials are carnivorous, so won't be attracted by the plants, just pests that may visit the plants. If there are no pests, beneficials will go elsewhere, most are able to fly. If/when you see plant pests, learning what each one is can be very helpful in knowing how to control it mechanically, and to research what critters consider your pest a meal. Providing suitable nesting sites for local carnivorous birds also helps with pest control.

If you research "companion planting" and "planting guilds" you'll find info about symbiotic plant relationships. Avoiding monocultures is another natural method of pest and disease control.

As a beginner, I would suggest focusing your efforts on having healthy plants via healthy, fertile soil. Compost, amendments, and natural fertilizers such as composted manure are much easier to apply to soil before an area is full of plants, and that initial effort will reward you for years with healthier plants that are naturally more able to resist invasions of pests.
perma_mike444
Ottawa
Canada

March 13, 2013
5:47 PM

Post #9448437