-
AuthorContent
LiseP
San Antonio, TX
(Zone 8b)

March 24, 2013
5:21 AM

Post #9459807

Hi all, dropping in again after a short absence. Been trying to catch up a bit on posts -- good to see everybody.

I have a question about eggplant. This is my first attempt and my seedlings have a zillion tiny holes in them. They may be toast, but I'm hoping to find out what little critter has been aiming for them, and what to do about it, either now or in future. Any ideas?
Thanks.
Lise
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

March 24, 2013
5:59 AM

Post #9459834

Flea beetles?
LiseP
San Antonio, TX
(Zone 8b)

March 24, 2013
6:42 AM

Post #9459882

Thanks -- just did a search on it and I think you're right. I'm having the same problem with cabbage seedlings and apparently the flea beetles (cabbage flea beetles) go after those as well.

I found an article on ways to thwart the critters -- I will try alternating a few of the suggestions -- spinosad, garlic spray and hot pepper. I am glad to know that spinosad is effective against the flea beetle, even though it is not (yet) listed on the label -- because I already have some!

Here's the article, if you (or anyone) is interested:
http://www.uvm.edu/vtvegandberry/factsheets/fleabeetle.html

Thanks again.
1lisac
Liberty Hill, TX
(Zone 8a)

March 25, 2013
5:52 PM

Post #9461858

Are your Eggplants already planted? Just wondering bc they are heat loving plants, more so then peppers.
LiseP
San Antonio, TX
(Zone 8b)

March 25, 2013
9:52 PM

Post #9462085

No, I just started some seedlings, but I probably set them out too soon. They are inside tonight! But I am probably going to start some more, since I have time. Thanks for that.
1lisac
Liberty Hill, TX
(Zone 8a)

March 26, 2013
8:02 PM

Post #9463347

They should be fine if your just setting them outside. If you can get rid of the flea beetles.

greenhouse_gal

greenhouse_gal
Southern NJ
United States
(Zone 7a)

March 27, 2013
4:49 AM

Post #9463543