Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Flowers: Will my Kale get any uglier?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 4, Views: 66
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
captKirkS
Jackson, MS

March 25, 2013
10:39 AM

Post #9461382

I'm totally new to Kale and just saw them at Lowe's and snapped them up as a great filler between my individual shrubs for the Winter. They were tiny 2 pint plants a few months ago and have grow exponentially! Now that the warm weather and lots of sun is here, they are growing large stems at the top with flowers. Although I like the flowers, I think the stems are ugly.

My questions are:
1) are the stems permanent?
2) should I expect them to get much taller than the 17 inches they are now?
3) can I trim the ugly pink stems back to the main part of the plant without harming it?
4) are they heat/humidity proof? (It get's brutally hot here in Mississippi during the Summer and they will get 6+ hours of full sun during the day.)

Thumbnail by captKirkS
Click the image for an enlarged view.

kwanjin

kwanjin
West Valley City, UT
(Zone 7a)

March 25, 2013
10:49 AM

Post #9461389

Your kale is flowering. It's called 'bolting.' You can cut it off or leave it, it's up to you. I don't know if the plant dies after it bolts.
nelsoncastro
Victoria
Australia

March 27, 2013
11:39 PM

Post #9464601

Keep your kale plants well watered. Along with cool temperatures, moist soil helps keep kale leaves sweet and crisp, rather than tough and bitter. Side dressing throughout the growing season with compost or feeding with fish emulsion will keep your kale growing. Mulch is important to keep the ground cool.
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

March 28, 2013
8:44 PM

Post #9465471

Flowering Kale (grown for decorative leaves) will die after flowering.