-
AuthorContent
miblea
LUCERNE VALLEY, CA
(Zone 9a)

March 26, 2013
8:35 PM

Post #9463390

Does anyone have any tips? I scarified the Argemone seed and placed in moist stratification(paper towels) in the fridge in a plastic baggie for 5-6 days then placed them in bright light in a hot room and they did not appear to germinate. I also purchased a New Mexico wildflower mix, soaked the seed, placed in moist papertowels in baggies and they germinated in about 3 days. The packaged mix contained Argemone pleiacantha Greene and they appeared to germinate although, it is hard to identify the seedlings as alot of the seed shells detached from the live tissue. I moved the tiny seedlings from the paper towel into seed starting cells. Does anyone have any pictures of wildflower seedlings? Particularly Argemone Polyanthmos and Argemone pleiacantha Greene. This is my first time germinating wildflower seeds and I'm fasinated. I'd post pictures but I don't have a good quality camera, plus there's over a dozen of them. Also, is there a better way to germinate the Sphaeralcea? I soaked them in boiling water for 4 hours before sowing half of them in seed starting cells, and the other half in the paper towel/plastic baggie method.
altagardener
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3b)

March 26, 2013
8:51 PM

Post #9463403

Five or six days in a fridge does nothing towards stratification for species that need it. I'd recommend you follow the instructions for both genera in the Alplains catalogue:
http://www.alplains.com/
miblea
LUCERNE VALLEY, CA
(Zone 9a)

March 27, 2013
9:55 AM

Post #9463822