Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Gardening Questions: Newbie here... dirt, soil, compost...all the great browns!

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 1, Views: 38
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
NewbieVegger
Kennesaw, GA

March 28, 2013
9:48 PM

Post #9465522

Hi all! I'm new here. I'm in 7b.
I have a mix of veggies and flowers started indoors in Jiffy seed starting mix. They are doing great but now, as I wait for it to warm up a bit outside to transplant, I worry that they are not getting any nutrients from the "fake" soil (starting mix).

After they were strong enough, should I have transplanted them into a soil/compost based mix instead of keeping them in seed start?
How can I fix it now..should I add some plant food and/or kelp to tide them over till i can get them in the ground?

Also- my garden is new and I had yards of organic soil brought in. I plan on adding work casings, azomite, kelp and compost tea later. Should i add some perlite in it to make it more aerated or is perlite only for potting?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm lost about dirt. :)
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

March 30, 2013
4:52 PM

Post #9467048