Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lilred78
Elgin, IL

April 14, 2013
1:47 PM

Post #9483755

Hello everyone I am very new to gardening I would like to start a vegetable garden to help my family food budget but need some help.
1) I don't know what i can start to plant right now I live in IL.
2) What would be easy veggies to begin with for a newbie and what do you guys think about container planting to start with.
milesdt
Pulaski, GA

April 14, 2013
7:06 PM

Post #9484154

what kinds of vegies does your family like? I think cucumbers and zucchini are easy to grow, also green beans. But I don't think they would do well in containers.
RamblingChicken
Ashland, OR

April 14, 2013
11:46 PM

Post #9484306

Tomatoes, from purchased plants (growing them from seed isn't so easy), are pretty easy, produce a lot of food, and can also be grown in large pots. Cucumbers and zucchini are also pretty easy to grow and produce a lot of food, but I don't know about growing them in containers. Raspberries are quite easy to grow, but you'll want to grow them in the ground. They don't produce a ton of food, but they are a pretty expensive food. Peppers grow just fine in containers, but they're not nearly as productive as tomatoes.

Lettuce is easy to grow from purchased seedlings. Kale is, too, and you can harvest it for a longer time. And it's not too hard to grow them from seed, either.

Perennial herbs are _very_ easy to grow from purchased seedlings. If you buy fresh herbs, you could save some money by growing your own. But again, I think that they should grow in the ground. Rosemary, in particular, is prone to dying if it's the least bit unhappy about the water situation; it's better off in the ground where it can be kept dry but not bone-dry; it's hard to achieve that in a pot.

Edited to add: Beans are indeed pretty easy to grow, but to produce much, you want at least a couple of dozen plants, in the ground.

This message was edited Apr 14, 2013 10:48 PM

Gymgirl

Gymgirl