AuthorContent
justgreateh
Fort Mcmurray
Canada

April 30, 2013
7:39 AM

Post #9502536

Hello,

I am new to gardening and I was wondering when the best time is to transplant hardy (zone 3) perrenial flowers into my ornamental perrenial garden?

I am living on a fire base and the gardens every year needed money thrown at them. I was to make sure the gardens have life for years to come with no large expense on annuals every year.

I think I am still at a good time. I have cold frames on two of the 6X3 gardens to warm the soil. I put a mulch layer of straw down. There is still 3 feet of snow and currently it is snowing. So, I am not to late to figure out when it is best time to transplant these flowers and how!!!

Thanks to whoever out there knows something on this topic.

Alexandria
altagardener
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3b)

April 30, 2013
7:31 PM

Post #9503463

You can transplant them as soon as the ground is thawed and workable. As they will still be dormant, it's a great time to divide and transplant, and will get things going for you.

This message was edited May 10, 2013 9:46 AM
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

May 2, 2013
6:35 PM

Post #9505971

I would recommend as with any garden to throw as much animal manure at the garden as you can, normally it's free to anyone who wants to go get it as people with horses cant keep throwing it onto a ple as it is a normal year round clear up for horse people, just make sure it's well rotter, preferable piled last year or year before would be good.
As you add this to the soil, make a 4-5 inch top dressing and dig this into soil as you go, it is the best type of humus to break up poor soil before planting out any Perrenial's, they love this type of soil and it adds air, feed, helps bring worms and they help break down the soil too. it also acts as a way to hold onto some moisture when you water as the humas acts like a sponge keeping the soil damper but not wet.