-
AuthorContent
shiisteelady
McAdenville, NC
(Zone 7b)

April 30, 2013
4:45 PM

Post #9503218

I have never tried roses before and would appreciate any input on the sun exposure and best care to achieve the best blooms. There is one little bud left after I cut off the dead blooms(i got the plant for 2 dollars woo hoo!) and it is still in its store container. The plant is about two foot tall. I wanted some input before i put it in the ground so i could scout out the best place for my new baby. Truth is roses scare me because I don't like failing and I have not had good results with my azaleas, it bums me out lol. I can handle annuals all day long but something about the pruning and overwintering I am not doing right...so help me fellow plant enthusiasts ;) please
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 30, 2013
7:53 PM

Post #9503501

http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/90985/

I am in zone 9b, so overwintering info might not be right for your area. However...

Roses need something close to full sun. Many varieties get several different fungi, and the full sun is one part of the program to reduce these fungi.

Deep soak so the roots grow strong and deep.

Mulch so the soil stays cooler, moister and encourages the beneficial microorganisms.

Fertilize regularly.

Watch for pests. Roses are magnets for aphids and many others. Some specialize in the leaves, others in the flowers. If you can find out what is wrong (pest, disease) promptly you can treat so it stops, and does not spread to more new growth. While it is probably not impossible to keep roses in an 'organic' way, it is easier IME to use the commercial products. A systemic to keep the bugs under control, and a spray fungicide regularly.