Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Vegetables: brown curling leaves on everything

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 39, Views: 236
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
brownthumb78
Belleair, FL
(Zone 10a)

May 9, 2013
8:14 AM

Post #9514383

This is my first year with a vegetable garden. I live in Clearwater Florida & since we have sand (not soil) I bought miracle gro vegetable soil. I planted squash, peppers, beans, asparagus, tomatoes, herbs, & some flowers. They grew well for a couple months but now they seem to be dying. I have no idea why. I water daily cuz its hot & started using miracle gro liquafeed weekly. The leaves are yellow, brown, curling & everything is droopy. I really want to do well. What am I messing up?

Thumbnail by brownthumb78   Thumbnail by brownthumb78   Thumbnail by brownthumb78   Thumbnail by brownthumb78   Thumbnail by brownthumb78
Click an image for an enlarged view.

Seedfork
Enterprise, AL
(Zone 8b)

May 9, 2013
11:55 AM

Post #9514605

So sorry about your plants, they really need help. Have you checked the roots to see what they look like?
behillman
Plantersville, TX
(Zone 9a)

May 9, 2013
3:54 PM

Post #9514921

Has it rained lately. Sometimes they need the rainwater inorder to grow. Something about nitrogen coming down in the air, into your plants.
brownthumb78
Belleair, FL
(Zone 10a)

May 10, 2013
9:24 AM

Post #9515670

I tried to dig beside the plants to find the roots but never found many. Could something be eating them? It just looked like a flat end at the bottom of the stalk part that was under ground. & it rained for a couple days last week but not since. We don't get a lot of rain :(
brownthumb78
Belleair, FL
(Zone 10a)

May 10, 2013
10:20 AM

Post #9515720