Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: Desert Rose. 2 types of flowers on one plant

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 2, Views: 44
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Jaketg1
North Port, FL

May 9, 2013
5:45 PM

Post #9515025

First- this site is wonderful! I wish I had found it before today.
I have a desert rose I have had for about 5 years. I am by no means an expert but I have tried many different things to grow my roses and have found a few tricks over the years (including using all natural charcoal with NO soil and pine bark to plant them in). for whatever reasons, they grow like crazy. My rose is different then the type you can find at the big box stores. It has fuzzy leaves and a more interesting bark. My question is this. About 4 months back I noticed a sort of "shoot" growing from the side of the plant. It was never there before and I never "spliced" anything onto it. It looked like an out of place branch or something. Last week it produced a few buds. To my amazement, the flowers are not only shaped differently but they are a totally different color. I did some research to the best of my abilities and cannot find anything on this. Is this normal? Its a very beautifull and healthy plant but now it is "odd" with this strange 2nd rose growing out of it all the sudden. Can you tell if this is normal or do I have a "freak of nature" in my front yard?

Thumbnail by Jaketg1   Thumbnail by Jaketg1   Thumbnail by Jaketg1
Click an image for an enlarged view.

WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

May 23, 2013
2:28 PM

Post #9531482