New to Growing Eggplants

North Shore of L. I., NY(Zone 6b)

I have never had anything but store bought supermarket type eggplnt but this year am growing my own for the first time. I bought seedlings of "Classic" and they have been planted out and doing well for a while now. But I wished I could try something more exotic. Well, today at our local nursery I found plants of "Ichiban" and " Gretal". They just came in. So I bought a plant of each. I should have a lot of eggplant fruit this year! "Gretal" is white and I have never even seen a white eggplant before.

Enterprise, AL(Zone 8b)

Good luck with your egg plants, especially the white one. Keep us posted on their progress.This is my first year with egg plant in many years. I just planted two Black Beauties,they seem to be doing pretty good, I think flea beetles may be putting holes in the leaves. I will learn with these two then see if I think it is worth the effort. I have decided some things are not worth the trouble to grow and some things are just fun to grow.

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

Greetings. I'm here.

My Gretyls from last season overwintered on the covered patio. They are loaded with new fruits.

Below is the Black counterpart -- Hansel.

Eggplants are water-hogging hungry hippos. FEED them regularly, and you will be rewarded. I add Black Kow Composted manure at planting.

Linda

Thumbnail by Gymgirl
New Port Richey, FL