AuthorContent

newyorkrita

newyorkrita
North Shore of L. I., NY
(Zone 6b)

May 24, 2013
11:09 AM

Post #9532567

I have never had anything but store bought supermarket type eggplnt but this year am growing my own for the first time. I bought seedlings of "Classic" and they have been planted out and doing well for a while now. But I wished I could try something more exotic. Well, today at our local nursery I found plants of "Ichiban" and " Gretal". They just came in. So I bought a plant of each. I should have a lot of eggplant fruit this year! "Gretal" is white and I have never even seen a white eggplant before.
Seedfork
Enterprise, AL
(Zone 8b)

May 24, 2013
11:22 AM

Post #9532580

Good luck with your egg plants, especially the white one. Keep us posted on their progress.This is my first year with egg plant in many years. I just planted two Black Beauties,they seem to be doing pretty good, I think flea beetles may be putting holes in the leaves. I will learn with these two then see if I think it is worth the effort. I have decided some things are not worth the trouble to grow and some things are just fun to grow.

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

May 24, 2013
7:41 PM

Post #9533031

Greetings. I'm here.

My Gretyls from last season overwintered on the covered patio. They are loaded with new fruits.

Below is the Black counterpart -- Hansel.

Eggplants are water-hogging hungry hippos. FEED them regularly, and you will be rewarded. I add Black Kow Composted manure at planting.

Linda

Thumbnail by Gymgirl
Click the image for an enlarged view.

flsusie
New Port Richey, FL

May 25, 2013
2:57 AM

Post #9533206