Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Flowers: Dividing a Chrysanthemum x superbum 'Becky'

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 19, Views: 77
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

Sequoiadendron4

Sequoiadendron4
Lititz, PA
(Zone 6b)

June 18, 2013
6:39 AM

Post #9563238

My Becky is raging out of control. Three years ago I planted her out of a 2c pot and now she is about 3' in diameter and taking over. In late fall I plan to divide and conquer, literally! Anyway, I've never done this before and wanted to see if any of you had any tips on splitting up a perennial. I assume you just take a shovel and dig out what you don't want but maybe there's a better option. I would like to retain the part that is dug out to give to friends of mine so I don't want to destroy it. Please let me know what you would suggest, thanks!

themoonhowl

themoonhowl
Prairieville, LA
(Zone 9a)

June 18, 2013
6:49 AM

Post #9563251

You stand a better chance of a healthy divide if you dig up the entire plant rather than whack through it with a shovel. It is recommended that they be divided every 3 to 5 years in the spring. Here is some info from Cornell Univ,

http://counties.cce.cornell.edu/chemung/agriculture/publications/dividing-perennials.pdf
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

June 18, 2013
5:36 PM

Post #9564234

I find a spading fork works better than a shovel.

Sequoiadendron4

Sequoiadendron4
Lititz, PA
(Zone 6b)

June 18, 2013
6:27 PM

Post #9564302

Yeah I was looking at it again tonight and it's probably 3'x4'. Diana...do you just shove the spading fork in and split it up? It's too big and I would much rather just cut out what I don't want and leave in what I want to stay.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

June 20, 2013
9:39 AM

Post #9566216