-
AuthorContent
Kalloused
Orem, UT
(Zone 6b)

June 24, 2013
3:41 PM

Post #9571682

Sorry it's me again. Sorry for posting a lot lately but I'm super noob at this and this is my first year doing anything that doesn't practically grow itself and you are all the most knowledgeable gardening hivemind collective on the internet(You're like the Borg of Gardening...bad star trek joke).
Anyway, I have some zinnias that I sprouted from seed indoors that grew wonderfully. I transplanted them outdoors and they didn't grow, just sat there healthy with 3 and 4 sets of leaves. You helped me determine that they weren't getting enough sun. I moved them out to the condo garden where it is sunny all day and have been checking on them(and my moonvine which is...struggling at best) and two days ago finally started growing a new set of leaves.
Just went out to check on them and give them some water and one of them is starting to brown and dry. It almost looked "burned". I've been keeping them watered and the sun hasn't really been that blazing hot here in Utah. 80's in the day and 60's at night with a lot of clouds lately.
Is it now getting TOO much sun? It's getting sun pretty much from sun up until sun down. They were sprouted in and moved into miracle grow soil.
Thanks for any help
Kall

This message was edited Jun 24, 2013 6:59 PM
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

June 24, 2013
8:28 PM

Post #9572059

It may simply be transitioning from a more protected location (house, part shade and cloudy weather all reduce the sun) to more sun. Keep on watering, mulch to keep the soil moist between watering.
As the roots spread into the surrounding soil you can probably water less often.
danielburns271
Sydney
Australia

June 24, 2013
11:06 PM

Post #9572166

Quoting:It may simply be transitioning from a more protected location (house, part shade and cloudy weather all reduce the sun) to more sun. Keep on watering, mulch to keep the soil moist between watering.