-
AuthorContent
murkov2
Lincoln, NH
(Zone 4a)

June 28, 2013
2:39 PM

Post #9577441

I am going to try to germinate iris seed for the first time when the pods are ready this season. Any words of wisdom for me?

Thumbnail by murkov2   Thumbnail by murkov2   Thumbnail by murkov2   Thumbnail by murkov2   Thumbnail by murkov2
Click an image for an enlarged view.

CLScott
Calgary
Canada

July 2, 2013
12:49 PM

Post #9583531

Have you done this before?
I have not germinated iris seeds.
I think that you should check the Deno database and the Clothier database.
They almost seem to contradict each other?

Deno suggests they germinate at 40F so I am thinking they would be good for winter sowing. But do'nt take my word---see what you learn from the data bases.
murkov2
Lincoln, NH
(Zone 4a)

July 4, 2013
8:44 PM

Post #9587182

No, I have never done this before, I'm totally a beginner who has been trying to learn how the best way possible. I'm retired and have a lot of time.
kantzklan
Edinboro, PA
(Zone 5a)

August 11, 2013
8:37 AM

Post #9627413

I[m in zone 5B and collect iris seeds, dry them over the winter inside and then put them out in the Spring...just dig a hole and put the whole pod in...that gives about 4-6 seeds in each hole...I haven't had any failures yet...I do the same with glad seeds, daylilly seeds, lilly seeds etc...

I am also trying hosta seeds around the trees this year...I didn't even dry them, just pulled them off the hosta, dug holes with a screwdriver around the tree and put about 3-5 seed in each hole...I'll know next spring if it worked...

That is what I love about gardening, just experiment, try it...if it works great...if it doesn't save enough seeds to try something else...I guess I'd say, don't be timid or afraid to plant seeds and fail...I guess that is how you learn.

by the way, those iris photos are beautiful...if you have leftover seeds you can always give them away or sell them...let me know how everything works.
CLScott
Calgary
Canada