Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: first time (hanging garden)

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 56, Views: 263
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
thumbofgreen
Madera Acres, CA

June 29, 2013
5:01 PM

Post #9579199

Will my plants be to close as they grow & will it harm them if they touch each orther? I have tomatoes,strawberries & bell peppers in the white bucket.

Thumbnail by thumbofgreen
Click the image for an enlarged view.

WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

July 2, 2013
2:39 PM

Post #9583654

Im not an expert on close planting but when it comes to container plantings, I know the plants you mention will not make it unless you put them into a larger container as there will not be enough soil to support the amount of plants you have in one tub, also you need to realise that ALL hanging containers for some reason require a huge amount of watering as while hanging up, they dry out very quickly, think washing on a line to dry, it wont dry if left in a heap but hang it up to dry and within an hour it will be bone dry. I know that example is a bit of drama but the principle is the same regards drying out fast.
You must also be prepared to feed any fruiting annual plants as you want to get as much fruit from them as possible but dont over feed, that is just as bad as no feed.

Hope this helps you a little and you can adjust the soil and watering to cope with this way of growing.
Best of luck. WeeNel.
thumbofgreen
Madera Acres, CA

July 2, 2013
8:10 PM

Post #9584153

Thank u ..oh yeahhhhh..love this knowledge that being offered.
thumbofgreen
Madera Acres, CA

July 2, 2013
8:44 PM

Post #9584194