Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ghalsey
Richmond, KY

July 1, 2013
10:28 AM

Post #9581811

Hello, I'm new to bee keeping(2nd yr.) My friend is showing me how to keep bees. This is his first year with a top bar. We have a problem. We have an ant colony that keeps coming back after we brush it out. I've looked for the queen, can't find her. Is there an easy way, that is non-toxic to the bees of course, to get rid of them?
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

July 1, 2013
7:43 PM

Post #9582705

If your hive is on a stand you can make an ant trap.

Here is how we used to do this:

Find 2 cans that are different sizes, and both are larger than the leg of the stand.

Cut some of the bottom out of one can so it will slide up the leg of the stand. If you leave the cut pieces on the can you can use these like nailing flaps. Slide this a few inches up the stand and nail it into place. The opening is down. Sort of like an umbrella.

The smaller can is placed on the ground, and the leg of the stand sits in it. Fill this with oil, soapy water or other ant-discouraging material. Make sure it does not attract the bees or kill them. (no sugar-attractant or poison).
Make sure the 'umbrella' is low enough to keep most of the dust, leaves, dirt and so on from falling into the trap.
A tree product called Tanglefoot can do this. It is sort of like vaseline, but thicker. It stands up to the heat better. You would not need the bottom can, if you used Tanglefoot, but I would still use the 'umbrella' can to keep the Tanglefoot cleaner longer. Each time you visit the colony stir up the Tanglefoot so it stays sticky.

Do this to all the legs of your stand. Make sure there is no other path the ants could use to get to the hive. No branches, no weeds, no anything. Remember that ants can build bridges of their own bodies, or else use their weight to bend over a stalk of grass until it makes a bridge they can walk on to reach the hive.