Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Best Climber ideas for Morning Glories

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 2, Views: 17
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
hburry
Kitchener
Canada

July 1, 2013
7:20 PM

Post #9582667

I have been growing Morning Glories for a couple of years now, and have been experimenting with the BEST way to allow them to climb. I have tried 1) wooden structures - however they were not tall enough
2) hooks attached under the eavestrough with twine to the ground about 10 feet long - however they get tangled and unmanageable
3) hooks attached under the eavestrough with fish line to the ground about 10 feet - however there needs to be something keep the tension tight

It is difficult to 'train' the morning glories to latch on to the twine and fish line.

I have seen beautiful morning glories growing at commercial sites and they look beautiful, no tangling with each other - very professionally done, how do they do that???

WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

July 2, 2013
5:51 AM

Post #9583030

The best way I know to train climbing plants like Morning Glories, Sweet Peas, Clematis in fact all that have twinning tentacles to twine around the framework given.

you have to build the strings, wires or netting in place way before the plants are 3-4 inches tall, however with string, wire or fishing line you need to have some roughness to enable the very new fragile tentacles get a hold while the plants continue to grow upwards, Personally, I remove a lot of the tentacles as they take up energy from the plant and you want the energy to be used for flowers and growth up / over the framework.