AuthorContent
SeniaO
Trego, MT
(Zone 4b)

July 17, 2013
4:32 PM

Post #9602763

Hello,

I am new at gardening and have a question about planting tree and bush seeds (birch, maple, european mountain ash, lilac, blueberry). I want to plant the seeds directly in the ground this fall, as it would happen in nature, but was wondering if I should place them in peet pellets, which would then be placed in the soil, or just put the seeds directly in the soil. There are some YouTube videos that talk about starting seeds in peet pellets (Jiffy-7 or others), which might provide better access of air to the seeds, and possibly alter the moisture conditions.

I actually live in another State, and will only be able to plant the seeds at our lot inTrego, MT 59934 (about 20 inches of annual precipitation), which already has a mixture of aspen, larch, pine, spruce trees, and keep my fingers crossed until the next year. A couple of years ago, in early May, I attempted to plant seedlings at the same location, but didn't have much success - either they got too dry or got eaten by deer (I was only able to find Norwegian spruce seedlings that survived, and no sign of birch or maple seedlings). This time I want to try planting the seeds (in larger quantities) in the Fall - September/October time frame, hoping if they start naturally, they will be a bit more viable.

I am attaching a couple of pictures of the place, in case it helps to assess the moisture/shade conditions. Should I clear the grass around the spots where I plant seeds, or cover it with leaves?

Any tips and suggestions are really appreciated. I apologize if this is not the right category for my question.

Sam

This message was edited Jul 17, 2013 5:43 PM

Thumbnail by SeniaO   Thumbnail by SeniaO
Click an image for an enlarged view.

pollengarden

pollengarden
Pueblo, CO
(Zone 5b)

July 19, 2013
1:49 PM

Post #9605253