Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Flowers: Gladiolas

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 16, Views: 85
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SWAgrarian
Albuquerque, NM

July 30, 2013
9:43 PM

Post #9617010

Hello. I'm new to gardening and wondering if I cut my gladiolas down to surface, will they grow again next year?

Thank you.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

July 31, 2013
1:37 AM

Post #9617065

Hi SWAgarian, welcome to the Dave's Garden Site, you will be overwhelmed by the helpful and friendly people who are also seeking and giving help here.

As regards your Gladioli, as with ALL bulbs, it's best NOT to cut the green / foliage from the plants until the foliage has either dried or turned brown, the reason for this is, bulbs /tubers ect are like our store cupbourd, all the goodness is stored there for the following years growing to take place, by allowing the foliage to die down naturally, all the nutrients that were held within the foliage gets taken back down into the bulb and it feeds the bulb to give it energy, boosts the food store all held within the bulb.I always remove the flower stem AFTER the flowers are done, this prevents the plant using energy at this time and helps all the goodness go back to feed the bulb.