Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Full Sun vs. Part Sun Perennials

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 3, Views: 51
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
judy76751
Grand Junction, CO

August 10, 2013
9:42 AM

Post #9626659

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Dave's Garden. I am trying to plan for next year. I live in zone 6a but the summers can get to 110 degrees. I am confused as to whether the plant will make it if it says "full sun to part sun." I have no shade. I would like to plant enough plants so that I don't have any weeds in the flower beds. I was planning on doing russian sage, artemisia silver mound, daylilies(dwarf and taller varieties), delphinium, ice plants, portulaca, primrose, iceland poppies, and mums for starters. I would like to find a plant that is similar to hostas but that will tolerate full sun since hostas are a shady plant.

Any help on the "full sun" question and any suggestions for other plants/flowers would be greatly appreciated.

Judy

flowAjen

flowAjen
central, NJ
(Zone 6b)

August 10, 2013
8:11 PM

Post #9627102

When it's full sun to part sun, means it those plants can handle some shade during the day
You want to avoid any that say "part shade", means they need to have some shade(basically morning sun and afternoon shade)

Lady's Mantle has the big leaves that can do full sun
There are some Heuchera that can take full sun
Ligularia

You can go tropical with an annual like elephant ear
nutsaboutnature
Algonquin, IL
(Zone 5a)

August 11, 2013
10:01 AM

Post #9627464

You should also remember that with the amount of heat and sun you have, your plants will require more frequent watering.