Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Vegetables: Chard & collards not doing well

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 8, Views: 51
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
AliciaF
Oakland Park, FL
(Zone 10b)

October 22, 2013
5:24 PM

Post #9692399

As many on this post are I'm very new to vegetable gardening & decided to start from seedlings. My collards (Georgia southern) & chard (bright lights variety) started off beautifully with almost a 100% germination rate. They looked great the first week and than slowly started dying. They first appeared wilted & then eventually died. No spots or bugs noted. I had them in cell starter kits and watered daily. They were left outside under the shade of a carport. Could I be over watering? Under watering? Is it still to hot? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks :-)

kittriana

kittriana
Magnolia, TX
(Zone 8b)

October 23, 2013
9:07 AM

Post #9692947

do you have an outdoor garden to transplant to? Collards do better sown straight to ground, and chard probably does too. It is time past to get them into ground. Misting in the starter kits, not watering, and after sprouting mist less, there is drainage? do you have them where once sprouted they can get sun? They are sun hogs and need good drainage. Do you have snails? they love to climb up into pots and do a great deal of damage as well, by the way- we love pictures

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

October 23, 2013
9:55 AM

Post #9692988

1. Too hot.
2. Overwatering.
3. They like cool/cold weather
4. You do have time to start them over...