Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Vegetables: Need Help Growing Sugar Snap Peas and Trellising

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 5, Views: 56
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Silvermist
Sacramento, CA
(Zone 9b)

December 4, 2013
4:30 PM

Post #9721512

Hi all,

Thanks for reading my post. I'm having some frustration growing these pea plants, it's my first attempt to grow them here in California during the winter season. I'm aware I would require a trellis for them, however right now I only have a 3 feet tall trellis I put together myself. What are some recommendations you guys/ladies can provide regarding growing peas? Should I use a taller trellis in the beginning?

By the way I noticed they have these small vines that wants to grab on hold to something, currently a few of them are wrapped around each other. Should I worry about this? Is it okay to cut the top of the vines and re-position the plants to stand alone against the bird fence?

Thumbnail by Silvermist   Thumbnail by Silvermist   Thumbnail by Silvermist
Click an image for an enlarged view.

gardadore
Saylorsburg, PA
(Zone 6a)

December 4, 2013
9:38 PM

Post #9721642

Are you growing the standard Sugar Snap Peas that grow up to 6 ft. or one of varieties that grow up to 3 ft? The shorter varieties require little staking so your 3 ft. trellis would be fine for them. The regular ones that are named Sugar Snap Peas or Super Sugar Snap Peas need a 6 ft. fence or trellis. You could probably just get some 6-7 ft stakes and add another 3 ft. trellis above the one you have now. The little tendrils will attempt to grab onto something. Check your packets to see how tall they are supposed to get.
Silvermist
Sacramento, CA
(Zone 9b)

December 4, 2013
10:37 PM

Post #9721659