Thumbnail by Kell
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Muddy1
Vienna, VA
(Zone 7a)

December 14, 2013
5:46 PM

Post #9728210

It looks as if this flower is fading. I'm no hydrangea expert, but most of the flowers on my hydrangeas look like that after the bloom period is over. Do you know what the original color was?

Domehomedee

Domehomedee
Arroyo Grande, CA
(Zone 9a)

December 14, 2013
6:09 PM

Post #9728213

Try putting "new hydrangeas" in your search engine. There are several with that pink/green combination. I love hydrangeas but have never really had a lot of luck with them. The ones I have now are in 15 gallon pots so the gophers can't get them, LOL.
hortiphoto
Christchurch
New Zealand

December 14, 2013
7:21 PM

Post #9728235

Yes, it's an ex-hydrangea. They all go like that when the heads die off. Your shot shows what a formerly pink flowerhead looks like. Here's one that was blue: http://www.botanicalstockphotos.com/photo-hydrangea-macrophylla---old-flowerheads-1815.htm .

Kell

Kell
Northern California, CA
(Zone 9b)

December 14, 2013
9:23 PM

Post #9728282

I just love hydrangeas too, Domehomedee! I did look up "New Hydrangeas" and found some interesting but none close.

No, I do not think these are older flowers. These were sold in April, new blooms, so not late in the season. Vintage/antique hydrangeas have a different look to them.They are sold at a very upscale florist that is part of a nursery. They sell very interesting ones, I assume florist grade though they are not cut but growing in 6 inch pots. I wonder if they could be dyed. Do they dye rooted ones?

Here is one of the displays with this particular one. And some other odd ones they had for sale.

Thumbnail by Kell   Thumbnail by Kell   Thumbnail by Kell   Thumbnail by Kell   
Click an image for an enlarged view.

Kell

Kell
Northern California, CA
(Zone 9b)

December 14, 2013
9:24 PM

Post #9728283