Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Vegetables: Need Help Transplanting

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 8, Views: 111
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
dracula13
Fort Lauderdale, FL

December 17, 2013
1:46 PM

Post #9729715

I'm new to growing peppers, and I have no idea if they or too young to transplant. Also, I'm not sure if I should prune them or not. It would be a great help if both questions were answered

The bell peppers are the first two pictures.

And the Jalapeno peppers are the last two.

Thanks for the help!

P.S. They are well hardened-off and I want to plant them into my raised bed outside. Also, the Jalapeno peppers are the same plant

This message was edited Dec 17, 2013 4:47 PM

This message was edited Dec 17, 2013 4:50 PM

Thumbnail by dracula13   Thumbnail by dracula13   Thumbnail by dracula13   Thumbnail by dracula13
Click an image for an enlarged view.

Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

December 18, 2013
9:45 AM

Post #9730190

I think they should transplant well from a size stand point. I don't know about the timing as I not from Florida.

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

December 19, 2013
8:26 AM

Post #9730638

Count,
Keep in mind that peppers LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE hot weather. The hotter the better... If you put them out too soon, and the ground is still too chilly for them, they will sit, sulk, and maybe even, stall.

If the weather isn't getting close to being very summery hot now, I'd hold them inside awhile longer. It won't hurt them.