Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
popper1
Mulberry, FL

December 28, 2013
5:26 AM

Post #9735587

I have some rare tropical Passiflora seeds I want to sow. I was wondering if it is best to lightly scarify the seeds and soak in warm water a day or sow before sowing? Any other advice would be great, I want to do everything possible to make sure they germinate.

Thanks all
David

This message was edited Dec 28, 2013 8:34 AM

Txtea

Txtea
Fabens, TX
(Zone 8a)

December 28, 2013
5:57 PM

Post #9736025

David, I am no expert but this year I grew 3 out of 5 seeds with Dr. Deno method. I did three more seeds soaking in orange juice, I read some where the acid helped them not so for me. But good luck to you such a beautiful plant. I am new to these this year but have 4 different ones blooming now in my small greenhouse.
popper1
Mulberry, FL

December 29, 2013
6:36 AM

Post #9736209

Where can I see What Dr. Deno mentioned?

David
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

December 29, 2013
7:19 AM

Post #9736233

I don't normally answer a question with a google search link, but there are more links than what I want to explore and copy right now
[HYPERLINK@www.google.com]
Pfg
(Pam) Warren, CT
(Zone 5b)

December 29, 2013
8:20 PM

Post #9736579

I've been using the Deno method for quite a while now with great success. Of the Google choices in the link above, the most thorough explanation is in the free download of Dr Deno's books. My favorite source and the best one to learn from IMO is Seedsite.co.uk, which also has lots of other seed and germination information. The quickest is BBB Super Easy baggie Method, which gives a brief, detailed how-to, but unfortunately names specific brands, really ridiculous. Any will do.

One important tip: Don't write directly on the paper towel, it will be illegible in no time. Use a separate label. I use cut-up mini-blinds and pencil. And there's more than one way to fold a paper towel, lol.

Good luck!
Buttoneer
Carlisle, PA
(Zone 6b)