Photo by Melody

Beginner Gardening Questions: Hibiscus help- is it seeding or is there something wrong?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 21, Views: 179
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
impynic
Drexel Heights, AZ
(Zone 8a)

January 11, 2014
5:26 PM

Post #9745583

I'm new to gardening and I'm not sure what to do so,I thought I would post here.I couldn't really find any help on google. Can anyone tell me if this is normal? I haven't see this before on my Hibiscus. I bought it at Lowe's back in September, and I can't remember what kind it is now. It look like there are seeds on it, not bugs. Should I just let everything be for now? Thank you!

Thumbnail by impynic   Thumbnail by impynic   Thumbnail by impynic   Thumbnail by impynic   Thumbnail by impynic
Click an image for an enlarged view.

bluetexasbonnie
Geronimo, TX

January 11, 2014
6:22 PM

Post #9745611

Aphids -- lots and lots of aphids. Where are those d@mn lady bugs when you need them?

Personally, I don't usually treat for aphids. I figure that the beneficials will show up sooner or later. I don't want to hurt them.

None of my plants have died from aphids, but they sure can look ugly for a time.
impynic
Drexel Heights, AZ
(Zone 8a)

January 11, 2014
6:41 PM

Post #9745619

Thank you! They sure are ugly- and they weren't moving at all, that's why I thought they were seeds. They are everywhere, holy cow!
Diana_K
Contra Costa County, CA
(Zone 9b)

January 12, 2014
6:19 PM

Post #9746324

You could try hosing them off. A strong spray from a garden hose can help. They may come right back, of course.
Look for aphids or something that look swollen and tan. They are dead from a beneficial wasp. Look for lady beetles and their larvae.
If you see these beneficials then you have some help in the fight against the aphids. If you do not see anything helping, then you might spray with something mild, perhaps an insecticidal soap.

brendak654