Organic Fertilizers

South Florida, FL(Zone 10b)

Hello, I am new to organic gardening. I have a one year old son and I am doing everything I can to try and make his life better. I started a new garden to grow veggies (which he loves to eat). I'm trying to keep my garden as chemical free for him as I can, but South Florida has poor, very sandy, soil. I've been trying to find true organic fertilizers and soil builders, but most seem so expensive (I'm on a limited budget). Any suggestions? I live in the city so the best thing (a compost pile) is pretty tough for me to do. Is the store bought "compost" in a bag worth it?

Does anyone know if "Doctor Earth" fertilizer products are any good?
Does anyone know about "Supreme Growers" products like Myco Blast or Soil Blast? Are these worth the money?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I am new to growing, but I love learning and read everything I can get my hands on.

Somewhere in, MD(Zone 7b)

Good morning Dragunov! :)

Funny you should ask; when I first saw words in your post like "organic" and "fertilizer", the FIRST thing that popped into my head was "Dr. Earth"! =) I use Dr. Earth fertilizers and I absolutely love them. We sell them where I work (a privately owned nursery/garden center), and we use them there as well; especially when we cut back our hanging baskets mid-season. Dr. Earth carries great soil-type products as well, including compost. Yes, it is worth it! =)
Milo Shammas, owner of Dr. Earth, wrote a really cool book, "Healthy Garden Healthy You", which is available at amazon if you're interested:
http://www.amazon.com/Healthy-Garden-You-Milo-Shammas/dp/B005GHQNDK
(I see it available elsewhere, but amazon has the best price) Yes I own the book, and yes I've read it cover-to-cover. Incredibly informative!!

I don't know anything about "Supreme Growers" products, so I'm sorry I can't help you there, but I sure do love Dr. Earth!