Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Vegetables: grow lights

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 21, Views: 189
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
organicNC
Colfax, NC

February 16, 2014
11:26 AM

Post #9770298

Hi, this will be my first year gardening and I know in order to start seeds inside I need a grow light set up. I have already gathered ideas for the shelving set up but I need to know what fixtures and bulbs to purchase. Do i need t12, t8, or something different? Cool white or warm, or one of each? Please help.

jmc1987

jmc1987
Cascade, VA
(Zone 7a)

February 16, 2014
12:00 PM

Post #9770318

i am a novice myself at using the grow light method, and to tell the truth, i have my setup kind of cheapo, lol. Just a cheap office desk lamp with a pose-able head, and i put a flourecent aquarium grow light in there, it has a cool white coloring to it. i have heard that plants use blue light for growth, and red light for flowering.

jmc1987

jmc1987
Cascade, VA
(Zone 7a)

February 16, 2014
12:01 PM

Post #9770319

of course i always start off a very small amount of seed indoors too, so thats how i can get away with doing it like that
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

February 16, 2014
1:41 PM

Post #9770385

The most cost effective solution is T8 fixtures hung on chain so that you can change the height as the plants grow. T12s are slowly being phased out. 6500K bulbs work the best. I have also used a 26 watt CFL in a utility or even better a brooder light fixture. That will cover about a square foot.
hcmcdole
Powder Springs, GA
(Zone 7b)

February 16, 2014
1:50 PM

Post #9770395