Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Seed Germination: seed mix question

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 3, Views: 56
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
turningbasin
Baytown, TX
(Zone 9a)

March 7, 2014
7:11 AM

Post #9783812

I am new to starting my seeds this year indoors.
I have Peat & Vermiculite on hand and would like to see if anyone can give me a soil mix recipe of any kind to make my own versus buying the store bought mix.
I have these two products in a large batch and would like to use these, if I can.
Any help and/or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

This message was edited Mar 7, 2014 9:31 AM

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

March 7, 2014
3:34 PM

Post #9784234

Both peat and vermiculite can crumble easily and become powdery if you work them around too much. So be gentle.

I hope the peat fibers are fairly long and coarse. If it is fine and powdery, it tends to get compacted and leave very room in the mix for air. If that happens, DON'T OVER-WATER or you'll drive all the air out and the roots will not get enough air. they will slow their growth or drown and die.

Add lots of coarse stuff to make a peaty mix better aerated and less soggy. "As much as you can afford", might be good, but 20-30% is better than 10%.

When you come right down to it, roots need plenty of air more than they need plenty of water. It's easy for roots to drown and rot, but hard for them to dry out so much that they take lasting damage.

If the vermiculite is very coarse, good, it will help "open up" the mix and let water out (faster drainage and less water retention) and let air in (roots don't drown).

But vermiculite holds a LOT of water. That means that, if you overwater, it will stay over-watered forever and your seeds and roots will rot.