Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: Green beans

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 24, Views: 259
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
horse727
Miami, FL

March 11, 2014
8:48 AM

Post #9787231

My name is David From Miami Florida.
I'm totally new at this gardening.
I recently planted vegetables in my yard, jalapeno peppers, green peppers, tomatoes, reddish, corn, cucumbers and Green beans
My question on Green beans
I planted it the on a pot and I transferred to the ground and I noticed the green beans and large but it has a tendency to be a ground dueler.
Is that normal or is a green bean a vine that needs guide fences?

Thumbnail by horse727   Thumbnail by horse727   Thumbnail by horse727
Click an image for an enlarged view.

JoParrott
Richland, WA
(Zone 7b)

March 11, 2014
8:55 AM

Post #9787240

There are "pole" beans and "bush" beans- bush beans support themselves and grow fairly low- about 2 feet tall, whereas pole beans need something to climb up on and attach their tendrils. They produce longer than bush beans. The package should have noted what type you have.
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

March 11, 2014
10:53 AM

Post #9787319

Your photo is of a bush bean. If you are planning on using it as a snap bean, you waited too long to harvest. Pole beans don't have tendrils, just long vines that climb by wrapping themselves around something. They will normally be 4-6 ft tall before they start producing pods.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill   Thumbnail by Farmerdill         

JoParrott
Richland, WA
(Zone 7b)

March 11, 2014
6:08 PM

Post #9787626