Photo by Melody

Vegetable Gardening: Are My Green Beans Leggy?

Communities > Forums > Vegetable Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Vegetable GardeningReplies: 7, Views: 55
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lizbing
Harrison, TN

March 18, 2014
3:38 PM

Post #9792487

I'm just learning to start plants from seeds.

I have a feeling these are VERY leggy. I grew them under florescents like a friend said, but I don't think it was enough light.

Thoughts?

And what can I do to salvage these?

Liz

Thumbnail by lizbing
Click the image for an enlarged view.

lizbing
Harrison, TN

March 18, 2014
3:40 PM

Post #9792493

That picture came our REALLY small. Let me see if I can get it bigger. :)
lizbing
Harrison, TN

March 18, 2014
3:45 PM

Post #9792502

Okay here we go... :)

Thumbnail by lizbing   Thumbnail by lizbing   Thumbnail by lizbing      
Click an image for an enlarged view.

lizbing
Harrison, TN

March 18, 2014
3:46 PM

Post #9792504

They are now DOUBLE in height today...

jmc1987

jmc1987
Cascade, VA
(Zone 7a)

March 18, 2014
4:26 PM

Post #9792541

they do look quite a bit stringy, what type of lighting are they getting? i myself bought just a cheapo desk lamp, and an aquarium full spectrum CFL bulb and leave it on for them most of the day to supplement what sunlight they are getting, and that is keeping them pretty normal height.

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

March 18, 2014
4:49 PM

Post #9792563

Yeah, leggy, but in the photos they were "not dead yet".

Three things.

Get 'em outside,into the soil, ASA practical. They aren't house plants. Beans are more often direct-sowed than transplanted.

Get them twice or three times the light intensity (like, outside, even if they are in a cold frame or poly tunnel). If they can't go outside, they NEED more light.

If they can't go outside, they need out of that flat and into bigger pots ASAP.

How many days did it take to go from soaking them to this point?