Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: Plant Tags

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 17, Views: 121
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
oilpainter2
LAMPE, MO

April 18, 2014
11:45 PM

Post #9816109

I'm not a beginner gardener, last yr someone told to me to find like a window blind an use a permanent magic marker to put the names of the plants on them an to cut the blind apart but this yr. most of them you can't read an I an have 32 just in rose bushes, then probably at least 100 or more different plants, I started doing the painted rocks, so please help someone what is a good way to mark plants that will last more than 1 year?

13Turtles

13Turtles
Springfield, OR
(Zone 8a)

April 19, 2014
2:03 AM

Post #9816122

I believe what nursery folk use is a grease pencil, but whatever it is I'm told that either that or regular pencil last the longest.

Hope that helps. Losing track of identities is a pain.

Turtle
DoGooder
Hopkinton, MA
(Zone 5b)

April 19, 2014
5:45 PM

Post #9816705

oilpainter2, you could also try engraving thin metal. You can buy plant tags that can be engraved with a ball point pen. I've never tried this but maybe pieces of tinfoil would work the same at a lower cost. One year I colored bamboo skewer sticks with permanent markers and wrote down on a piece of paper what plants the different colors were, and I also marked some by cutting the bamboo.

Nancy Groutsis
dannyboy91
North Brunswick Town, NJ
(Zone 7a)

April 20, 2014
8:41 AM

Post #9817081