Photo by Melody

Beginner Gardening Questions: How to identify plants?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 7, Views: 52
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ajcrewmisfit
Lakewood, CA

June 8, 2014
12:08 AM

Post #9862270

Hello,

First time posting! I am totally new to anything landscaping, gardening, and really anything to do with yard work. I'm just starting to get my feet wet.

I've installed a new lawn, and my next project is to find plants to fill out the rest of my yard.

I am finding a lot of ideas at other peoples homes, parks, etc. How can I identify a plant so I can buy it at my local nursery? Is there a place I can upload a photo and get help from people to identify it for me?
steadycam3
Houston Heights, TX
(Zone 9a)

June 8, 2014
12:27 AM

Post #9862273

Yes, just take a photo of the plant in your neighborhood and post it on here to the plant identification forum. The folks on here are awesome at identifying things. To help them out, get a photo not just of the bloom but a shot of the foliage up close, a wide shot to see the growth habit of the whole plant, seed pods if it has them, etc.
tx_flower_child
Dallas, TX

June 8, 2014
12:50 AM

Post #9862277