Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Flowers: Weed fabric or just Mulch for Foxgloves?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 10, Views: 54
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Iris2222
Carmi, IL
(Zone 6b)

June 16, 2014
9:09 AM

Post #9869261

Hello, this is my first time growing foxgloves. I planted them but wanted to know if I should just mulch them or use weed fabric to discourage weeds. I have read that they reseed themselves & didn't know if they could do that if I use weed fabric. Thanks for any info!
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

June 16, 2014
1:06 PM

Post #9869451

For Fox Gloves, I would NOT bother to use the fabric, reason being, Fox Gloves are a very short lived Per-annual, that means the type of plant that the seeds germinate one year and put on growth, (leaves etc) but not till the following year (2nd year) do they flower, then that autumn, they spread their seeds to germinate the following year and the cycle has started all over again.

IF you lay the fabric ground cover, you will be lifting it up to remove the dead Fox Gloves 2nd years later then presumably relay it for the next germinated seedlings.

With Per-Annuals Fox Gloves and others of that type, you need to start your seeds off one year toy enjoy the flowers the next, so for the firs few years, your starting seeds off EVERY year so you have a constant supply of those lovely flowers every year.