momstxgarden

momstxgarden
El Paso, TX
(Zone 8a)

August 12, 2014
12:57 PM

Post #9916413

Hello,

This is my first time planting Lantana (new/returning to Gardening) would appreciate any tips, feedback, and constructive criticism, as these are looking pretty crappy to me. My goals are1. to not kill them! 2. for them to spread and cover this area-have not added bark, or rocks as I want to know if I need to add more Lantana or wait and let these fill in?

p.s.

I am new here. Don't know if Lantana should be under flower or ground cover, etc. I was unable to post in Texas Garden area, and I could not find an "introduction/newbie" thread if there is one... please point me in the right direction. any advice greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
(zone: 8a)

Thumbnail by momstxgarden   Thumbnail by momstxgarden   Thumbnail by momstxgarden      
Click an image for an enlarged view.

nutsaboutnature
Algonquin, IL
(Zone 5a)

August 12, 2014
2:41 PM

Post #9916469

Hi and Welcome to Dave's Garden!

I've never grown Lantana, but I definitely plan to next year after recently visiting Chicago Botanic Garden's Butterfly exhibit. The butterflies were all over the Lantana...they loved it!. In my area it's grown as an annual.

I'm sure you'll get more responses soon, but one way to get more info as well as reading comments from other members is through PlantFiles (accessed through the "Guides & Information" link at the top of the page)

Below are two PlantFiles links, one for regular Lantana and the other is the search page with different varieties. Reading comments, some even from Texas Gardeners, might give you some tips and ideas. You'll also get to look at lots of pictures. You'll only be able to search PlantFiles and the other guides 10 times per day, but that should be enough to learn a bit about the plant.

Here are the links:

http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/578/