Always learning...

Hobart, IN

I've been reading up this year on organic/permaculture practices. Just finished reading "The Intelligent Gardener" about soil remineralization and a few different permaculture books. Oh - to be able to start a new garden from scratch to incorporate some of the information. How does one apply all of this learning to a long-established garden?

Colima, Mexico(Zone 11)

Hi Cindy...there must be some small things you can start out with to get to where you want your soil to be. Unfortunately, i am not well-educated or well-read in this area, but i have been adding well-composted material to my soil for about 8 years, but only about the first 12 to 24 inches, hoping the goodness will percolate down. As a tropical gardener, and because i grow tropical plants, i need spectacularly well-draining soil. The first 2 feet drain very well, but beyond that plants such as passifloras (perennials here) drop dead every 3 years from root rot and i suspect nasty nematoids. Your reading must have given you some clues about where/how to get started (without having to bring in a dozer), i guess we need to know where we are soil-wise and where we want to be soil-wise and take small steps to get there.

Hopefully some people on the forum can give you some tips. It is a great question and i'll be listening in for tips from people who know a lot more about it than i do. :-)

Hobart, IN

I've never had a soil test done in all of my gardening years but now I'm curious to see what I've really got so I've got that at the top of my to-do list once I figure out what soil lab to use. According to "The Intelligent Gardener", compost can improve the structure of the soil and maybe the NPK but it doesn't help restore the other nutrients so much. It's supposed to be more evident when growing vegetables or fruits. Maybe I need to jump back to some of the permaculture books to follow up on soil minerals.