Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Garden Talk: Plant markers

Communities > Forums > Garden Talk
bookmark
Forum: Garden TalkReplies: 7, Views: 217
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lantana

(Zone 7a)

January 6, 2001
11:35 PM

Post #421

Just got my Select Seed catalog and they had some very neat garden markers made of birch sticks. They are 12" long, cut to a point at one end, and have a flat place carved at the top to put the name of the plant. They are painted in a clear lacquer to help preserve. I am going to make some out of my bois c'arc sticks. I probably won't have to paint them at all as bois d'arc is a very hard wood.
Sari
Saint Helen, MI
(Zone 5a)

January 7, 2001
8:16 PM

Post #46540

Where does bois d'arc wood come from? I am a woodworker and tree lover and have never heard of it. I went through my "Trees of North America and Europe" book and I couldn't find it. I would like to know more about bois d'arc like where it grows, what it looks like and so on.
BTW The hardness of the wood has little to do with it's abiliy to last in contact with the soil.
lantana

(Zone 7a)

January 7, 2001
11:12 PM

Post #46558