Photo by Melody

Plant Identification: SOLVED: Anyone know what this is??

Communities > Forums > Plant Identification
bookmark
Forum: Plant IdentificationReplies: 5, Views: 168
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Ginger_H
Fountain, FL
(Zone 8a)

April 6, 2002
5:09 PM

Post #26353

Now that spring has sprung here it's fun to see what is growing in my DS's yard. Noticed this blooming the other day..reminds me of a magnolia,but the leaves don't look right to me. but then my thumbs still haven't turned green yet. LOL

Thumbnail by Ginger_H
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Evert
Helsinki
Finland
(Zone 4b)

April 6, 2002
9:08 PM

Post #238306

That is so pretty! Leaves look like syringa but it isn't for sure.. could be Magnolia. Maybe -- I'm not good at this
Roselaine
North Vancouver, BC
(Zone 8a)

April 6, 2002
11:07 PM

Post #238384

Look at the high centre of the bud flower and the anthers and stamens..more of a hot climate Magnolia...beautiful flower! unusual???? Elaine
Ginger_H
Fountain, FL
(Zone 8a)

April 7, 2002
2:42 PM

Post #238661

A friend came over yesterday. From the pictures he suggested some sort of miniture magnolia. Sounds reasonable,I suppose,or some sort of wild native. The ladies who owned my place and DS's were great friends and did a lot of tromping around digging things up.
SquareRoot

April 7, 2002
4:32 PM

Post #238702

You have a young saucer magnolia tree (Magnolia soulangiana). I think maybe a "Pink Superba" variety. Although it could be "Liliputian", which have mainly light pink flowers. Saucer magnolias I've seen before are usually covered dense in flowers, more than leaves, in the early spring.