Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ohiorganic
New Paris, OH

March 31, 2001
4:23 PM

Post #3067

Beans are one of my favorite seeds to save. They are the easiest of the vegetables to grow out for seed as they are self pollinators and need very little isolation (about 10'). Grow them like you would any bean but do not pick until the pods are brown and dry. Clean the m and store in a cool dry place. the seeds should be viable for 5 to 10 years or more. Always grow more than you will need to plant as you can make soup out of the extra. fresh dried beans are sooo much better than store bought.

We usually grow out black turtle beans, anasazi beans, tiger eye beans and calypso beans.

Any other bean growers or wannabees?
Brook
Richmond, KY
(Zone 6b)

March 31, 2001
6:21 PM

Post #63896

Me, me, me!

I'm growing six varieities this year: Calypso, New Mexico Cave, Rio Zape, Dragon's Tongue, Snowcap, and Potato Patch.

I'm just a newbie when it comes to bean collecting, though. I have 20 odd varieties in my collection. Many of them came from my friend Sharon Vadas, who has 87 in hers.

There are about 6,000 known common beans. So I've got a ways to go.
dave

March 31, 2001
6:29 PM

Post #63901

Me Me Me too!! :)

Adzuki, Calypso Pole, Cowpea, Whippoorill, Jacob's Cattle, Trail of Tears, and Vermont Cranberry Pole Beans

I've never grown any of these before, they were all received from friends (including Brook, Melody, and Big_Red).

I also have some seeds of those "yard long" beans, but I think I'll probably pass on those, at least this year.

Dave
ohiorganic
New Paris, OH

March 31, 2001
6:30 PM

Post #63903

Lets see, if I include the green beans (and why not!) We save provider, roma and maxibel along with the dried bean types. Oh year we also have raised cranberry beans (tongue of fire) and christmas limas.

They are such pretty seeds to save.
Brook
Richmond, KY
(Zone 6b)

March 31, 2001
6:39 PM

Post #63906