Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Bug_Girl
San Francisco, CA

August 11, 2002
2:42 PM

Post #39511

I have three grouds and only one pumpkin plant this year, will I get pumpkins? I was going to try hand pollination, but I can't get both male and female flowers open at the same time, so far. Will the pumpkin cross with the grouds? I would have had more, but strangly many of the seedings did not make it. This is my first time for growing pumpkins or grouds.
Bug Girl
Violet
Springfield, MO
(Zone 6a)

August 13, 2002
4:24 PM

Post #326169

You may find this link insightful: http://www.indiaagronet.com/indiaagronet/seeds/CONTENTS/Techniques.htm
MaryE
Baker City, OR
(Zone 5b)

August 28, 2002
4:13 PM

Post #340542

That's an interesting link. Somewhere I read about the amount of space required to keep pumpkins from crossing with other squash family members, but as I recall the average gardener wouldn't have enough space. By now something must be developing out there, what do you see?
Evert
Helsinki
Finland
(Zone 4b)

August 28, 2002
6:38 PM

Post #340640

http://davesgarden.com/contest/2002/veggie/viewentry.php?imageid=221 :}
Brook
Richmond, KY
(Zone 6b)

August 28, 2002
6:40 PM

Post #340641

Just for the record, squashes come in six species, which do not cross with each other. So you could grow six different squashes side by side with no problems.

The question is, what pumpkin and what gourds do you have? Most--but certainly not all--pumpkins are Cucurbita maxima, C. mixta, or C. pepo. Gourds, by and large, are C. pepo. So chances are yours won't cross pollinate.

There are always some surprises, though. Assuming your gourds are C. pepo, others in that species include the so-called summer squashes (yellow straight- and crookneck, zucchini and scallop), along with acron and spaghetti squashes, which are winter squashes.

So, if you are also growing, say, zucchini, your gourds could cross with them.

Isolation distance between varieties of the same species is 1/2 mile.