Very rare and old craft

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

I had posted these pictures in the photos forum I thought this is a better place so that more people with like-interest will be visiting this forum. I'm new to this particular forum. This one is a model of a Fruit Basket. It is made from Paddy by my grandmother about 30 years or so ago.

Thumbnail by Dinu
Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

Here is the close-up of how it is made.

Thumbnail by Dinu
Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

It is another art work of my grandmother. It was made in 1936. Yes, 1936. It has been made on velvet cloth and the white material is, believe me, rice. It has won many prizes in various exhibitions.

Thumbnail by Dinu
Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

Close-up.

Thumbnail by Dinu
Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

WoW! I saw this over in photos,but these are quite spectacular! Your grandmother was quite a talented lady!

Knoxville, TN(Zone 7a)

Wow, that is fantastic. I love the old crafts. When I use to live in NY, they would teach classes on the old crafts, so they wouldn't be lost. That is one I've never seen before.

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

Surely, Auzzie, even in those days, she was perhaps the only one who did this kind of art. I do not remember her telling where she learnt from. It is my duty to preserve such things merely for the pleasure of it.

(Zone 5a)

Dinu, your family is very unique and talented. What an honor to preserve such treasures. They are in very good shape!

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Very pretty! I wonder how long it takes to do that with all the little grains of rice, must take a lot more patience than I have!

The Woodlands, TX(Zone 8b)

Those are amazing! I bet they took many hours to finish.

What is a 'Paddy'?

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)