SOLVED: Blooms like snail vine (vigna caracalla) but smaller??

Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

OK, got these seeds in spring, started them - all they said was this: blooms like snail vine but smaller.
OK my question, does anyone know what it may be called? They have leaves same shape and formation as the vigna, and these flowers are teeny about dime sized, but oh so pretty, however, there is no smell to them.
Please and thanks!
Laurrie

Thumbnail by OhioBreezy
Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

another shot of flower

Thumbnail by OhioBreezy
Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

and just one more.
Thank you everyone
Laurrie

Thumbnail by OhioBreezy
Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

bud

Thumbnail by OhioBreezy
Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

leaves

Thumbnail by OhioBreezy
Needville, TX(Zone 9a)

Laurie, what you have is a Lathyrus species.....

This message was edited Sep 23, 2003 6:08 AM

Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

Moonlighting, ok, just what is that.......? I am new to viney things so any help appreciated. I am going to run a search on what you said to see if I can find out a little more.
Thanks soo much
Laurrie

I agree on Lathyrus (Sweet Pea vine). Take a look at some of the shots here and you might find your particular one: http://plantsdatabase.com/search.php?search_text=Lathyrus&Search.x=13&Search.y=7

Dave

Needville, TX(Zone 9a)

Hey there Lauurie - Dave is right, Lathyrus ssp. (species)is pea, i.e. sweet pea and others. I can't decide if yours is actually sweet pea - it could be a modern one, or if its an infamous cousin.....

Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)

Dave & Moonlighting, thanks for the help here, I checked and cannot find my particular one in there. Mine is creamy white with mauve to lavenderish colors on it, very tiny, dime sized. I will keep looking!!! It is so cute.

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

I disagree on the lathyrus ID. I think it would more likely belong to the Bean family, Fabaceae.

Looks like a Phaseolus species to me.

I also disagree with Lathyrus, does the plant have any tendrils?

Dundee, OH(Zone 5b)