Photo by Melody

Bromeliads: bromeliads ..how to propogate?????

Communities > Forums > Bromeliads
bookmark
Forum: BromeliadsReplies: 11, Views: 524
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
pixiedust
baton rouge, LA
(Zone 9a)

April 22, 2004
11:29 PM

Post #847036

Hey there!!! My spelling could be wrong but the question is...my plant had a baby and I apparently need to separate the two. Baby is becoming too dependent and Mommy is having a nervous breakdown. I've never done this before and so I need a little advice. They have been living on a piece of driftwood on my deck and I would like the baby to return to it and send Mommy on a long needed vacation.How should I take care of the baby?????? I'm trying to avoid SIDS. Any help would be appreciated. Pixiedust (AKA..nervous new mother)
Clare_CA

(Zone 10b)

April 22, 2004
11:40 PM

Post #847048

I think you are supposed to sever the baby from the mother plant when the baby is about half the size of the mother, but I am not a Bromeliad expert by any means. I do know that there is special Bromeliad fertilizer that you can use. You fill up the vase of the plant with the fertilizer solution. Here's a link: http://bsi.org/
pixiedust
baton rouge, LA
(Zone 9a)

April 23, 2004
2:38 AM

Post #847239

Thanks Clare ...I'll check that sight now. Pixiedust
Roz
Gulfport, MS
(Zone 8a)

April 27, 2004
4:45 PM

Post #851585