-
AuthorContent
delphiniumdiva
Birmingham, AL
(Zone 8a)

May 27, 2004
6:58 PM

Post #885767

Hi! I am a new member. I have a large yard but also do containers. I recently got into doing mini-gardens with different themes. Is anyone else doing this? Here is my first one, a Victorian theme. I have also done a cabin in the "mountains." I am working on a Japanese theme and a Mary garden right now.

Thumbnail by delphiniumdiva
Click the image for an enlarged view.

drop
Dublin, OH
(Zone 5a)

May 27, 2004
7:21 PM

Post #885786

Wow!

First of all, welcome. And then, wow. I'd never thought of doing something like that. Being a newbie myself, that is not surprising. Good job, delphiniumdivia! Did you build all the structure and fence? Does it take much maintaining? I am thinking lots of trimming to keep the plant proportion to the structure and path.
celia
Cleveland, OH
(Zone 5b)

May 27, 2004
7:26 PM

Post #885791

That is REALLY sharp!!! What plant is that in the upper left-hand corner?
delphiniumdiva
Birmingham, AL
(Zone 8a)

May 27, 2004
7:54 PM

Post #885829

Thanks for all the kudos! I must say - this was not my idea, I saw it in an old garden magazine at the vet's office! There is also a book out by somebody on miniature gardens - I saw it the other day on Amazon. Maybe I should see what the author says about maintenance. I'm sure I'll be doing a bit of trimming, but I like that kind of thing. Not like I have to get out the hedge shears or anything!

In the upper left is a Japanese Holly, some form of ilex, that I picked up in a gallon pot at Home Depot. I shook off most of the soil from the roots like you would a bonsai, and gave it a trim. I am keeping them all in morning sun, afternoon shade, under the eaves of my house to protect from hard rain.
Here is a pic of my "mountain retreat." About as close as I can get to the mountains without driving 10 hours!

Liz

delphiniumdiva
Birmingham, AL
(Zone 8a)

May 27, 2004
7:56 PM

Post #885833